The South Burlington 16-18 Senior Babe Ruth team claimed the state championship for 2017 on Sunday, July 30. L-R, top row: Coach Dwight Decoster, Caleb Levan, Gregory Knowles, Ben Wilking, Jake Mann, Joseph Gonyaw, Kyle Decoster, Jake Trombley, Coach Mark Trombley. Bottom row: Cam Zurgusky, Toby Young, Michael Baechle, Steven Levine. Not pictured, Max Pudvar and Trevor Mitiguy. photo: lisa levite. 

Babe Ruth State Champions

Home » Community » Babe Ruth State Champions

Thursday August 03, 2017

South Burlington defeated Franklin County 8-6 to win the Babe Ruth State Championship Sunday in Winooski, having defeated Burlington on Saturday to advance to the championship.

With a walk off win, 8-7 against South Royalton in the first round, South Burlington then beat Burlington, 8-5 by scoring four in the 6th to win and advance into the championship of the double elimination tournament.

On Sunday, South Burlington claimed the 8-6 win against last year’s state champion, Franklin County.

Five South Burlington members were also selected to represent the State of Vermont in the New England Regional tournament: Cam Zurgusky, Jake Trombley, Kyle DeCoster, Caleb Levan and Max Pudvar.