The South Burlington High School Wolves Division 1 field hockey state champions and Division I boys soccer state champions at the Vermont State House, where they were recognized for their 2017championship seasons.PHOTOS: Beltrami & Co Photography

SBHS Wolves Teams Honored at State Capitol for Championship Titles

Home » Sports » SBHS Wolves Teams Honored at State Capitol for Championship Titles

Thursday February 01, 2018

The South Burlington High School Wolves boys soccer and girls field hockey teams visited the State House Friday, January 26, where they were honored with the reading of House Resolutions recognizing their championship seasons. South Burlington Representatives Martin LaLonde, Helen Head, Ann Pugh, and Maida Townsend offered the resolutions.

The Wolves Division 1 field hockey state champions were noted as receiving a third consecutive divisional crown. Resolution H.C.R.224 reads, “Whereas, the Division 1 field hockey champions in 2015 and 2016, the SBHS Wolves felt empowered to seek a third consecutive divisional crown.” It continues, “Throughout the fall of 2017, the Wolves demonstrated a steady command on the field, sustaining only one defeat during the regular season.” The team is coached by Anjie Soucy, who was also recognized by the resolution.

Wolves Division 1 state champion field hockey team members listed on Resolution H.C.R.224 include Emma Liebegott, Kate Hall, Emma Havers, Joan Vera, Sophia Thomas, Molly Boardman, Hanako Memon, Claire Wright, Emma Miner, Odessa O’Brien, Willow Yager, Emma Tolan, Caroline Desautels, Josie Ford, Elise Norotsky, Grace Hoehl, Audrey Smith, Danielle Sleiman, Marissa Pelino, and Ainsley Hultgren. The resolution reads, “All played superb field hockey.”

The Wolves Division I state championship boys soccer team was noted as “among the best in Vermont.” Resolution H.C.R.223 reads, “The Wolves’ opponents developed a strong respect for the team’s soccer skills as reflected in an impressive regular season record that featured only a single defeat and one tie.” It continues, “South Burlington entered the competition as the first-seed and ready to prove the validity of this top ranking.” Head coach of the team is David Martin, with assistant coaches Andy Weiss, Adolphe Lumumba, and Amar Kapi, who all were noted in the resolution as “expert teachers and mentors.”

Wolves Division I state champion boys soccer team members listed on Resolution H.C.R.223 include Ben Capano, Brendan Precourt, Cody Bellinghiri, Luke Leclair, JustinKing, Amza Issa Josh Coon, David Larrabee, Sangay Khenkhenpa, Tenzin Choedak, Amerlin Nemeye, Ben Knudsen, Lukas Kaiser, Alex Lefebvre, Hari Karki, Patrick O’Hara, Spencer Baker, Ben Mazza-Bergeron, Brendan Bridge, Tommy O’Leary, and Samy Slamani.